Geaux
Your Location:  New Orleans Restaurants
October 23, 2014
  34 Ratings | 11 Reviews  
97% Recommend
Commander's Palace
1403 Washington Ave
New Orleans, LA 70130
(504) 899-8221

9 Reviews for Commander's Palace
 | 
Lunch Review
by SomewhereDownInTX on 3/1/12
“New Orleans food is as delicious as the less criminal forms of sin.” ? Mark Twain

The wife and I were in New Orleans a couple of weeks ago for a day and we took full advantage of the short time we were there. Commander's was everything and more than we both expected. We had reservations for 12:30, but arrived at 12 and were promptly seated at table overlooking the courtyard.

Drinks
To start off with my wife ordered a Cosmopolitan and I had a Sidecar which were both outstanding, especially the Cosmopolitan for a bargain at $.25. (Mrs.Somewhere had three) They brought some garlic bread to the table with our drinks which was buttery and rich. I could have made a meal out of it.

Appetizers
I ordered the Commander's 3 Course Selection so my appetizer was the Turle Soup, a Commander's must from what I had heard. To be honest, it lived up to the hype, it was rich, meaty and just absolutely delicious. I all but licked the bowl clean, it was that good.


The wife ordered the Shrimp and Tasso Henican. The shrimp were cooked perfectly, but at first she thought it was a bit too spicy for her taste. Then she had a bite with everything together, and it was probably one of the best bites of her life. The pickled okra, onions, and ham offset the heat perfectly. I tried it and thought it was fantastic as well.

Entrees
I had the Blackened Skillet Seared Gulf Fish entree (which was drum that day). It was so good! The fish came with sweet potato orzo and herbed couscous with Creole tomatos, roasted mushrooms, and brown butter vinaigrette. Let me tell you, another perfect bite. The way all the flavors came together was a work of art.


My wife had the Fire-Grilled Louisiana White Shrimp which was Wild caught Gulf shrimp over fresh
Ponchatoula red beans with spicy andouille,
grilled corn, trinity, crispy garlic, and
a sauce of Creole tomato étouffée. She liked it but had a case of plate envy after seeing my entree and and table next to us which had ordered the Couchon de Lait. Her dish was very good, but mine was better.


Dessert
Now to my favorite part of the meal. The 3 course comes with “The Queen of Creole Desserts”, Creole Bread Pudding Soufflé, Finished tableside with whiskey cream sauce. This one is so hard to describe because it was the perfect ending to a fantastic meal. It was warm, rich, creamy, and delicious. The perfect dessert.


My wife ordered the Ponchatoula Strawberry Shortcake which was made to order. Perfect strawberries, perfect biscuit, perfect cream... that's all there is to say.


To wrap up my Commander's review, it was definitely TOP 3 meals of my life. Service was fantastic. They have a 3 man system that is flawless. We left there full, a little tipsy, and very satisfied. All together the bill was roughly $90 before tip, and worth every penny. We will definitely have reservations the next time we are able to visit the great city of New Orleans.
 | 
Absolutely delicious, impeccable service, great atmosphere
by supadave3 on 1/15/14
Our dinner and entire experience was freaking awesome. We arrived at 7:30 and sat out in the courtyard for 30 minutes enjoying a cocktail. Then, then brought us to our table at 8:00. We were originally sat in the dining room with the glass wall over looking the court yard. Unfortunately, they sat us next to a table with 2 kids that were trying to out scream each other. I was very disappointed about that but I didn't say anything and as I was looking over the wine list the Maitre 'D came to the table and quietly asked if we'd like to move to a quieter table. We gladly took him up on it. This made a huge difference in our night and I loved the fact that he moved us with us even asking.

On to the food. We shared the Oyster and Absinthe Dome and that was pretty good. Each had a cup of turtle soup and that was different than I expected but delicious nonetheless. Our entrees were freaking awesome. She had redfish and I had the Osso Bucco with new potatoes. Absolutely delicious. I was stuffed but couldn't stop eating because it was so good. We shared the bread pudding souffle for dessert and it was probably the best dessert I've ever had in my life. A great experience all the way around. Yes, it was very pricey but for a special occasion it was worth every penny.

 | 
Birthday Dinner 3/31/2012
by rahrahoohlalala on 4/1/12
A few friends and I celebrated a birthday at Commander's Palace. The food was delicious, the service was impeccable, and I thought I'd share. We're the kind of gals who don't mind sharing food, so I got at least a taste of each. Reliving it is half the fun! Some of my recollections are a bit hazy, thanks to three glasses of wine at dinner and two gin martinis at The Columns Hotel, where we had our post-dinner drinks, so if you catch that I misremembered specific ingredients, forgive me.

Apps:

Artisan Cheese Plate We got all three cheeses. A crumbly pungent blue cheese, a firm pecorino and a soft American goat cheese. Plate came drizzled with honey, blueberries, strawberries, and candied pecans. Both a plain french loaf and a fruit-filled melba toast we're provided to spread the cheese, if you're one of those people who doesn't eat it alone.

Soups 1-1-1 Tasters of each of the soups: the famed Turtle Soup (which isn't my favorite, but is undeniably tasty), a shrimp and okra gumbo which was thick and spicy, and a crabmeat and wild mushroom bisque.

Salads:

Two of us ordered the 3-Course Special, but our tastes are similar so we both went with the same The Pig 'n The Fig salad. Tart mixed greens with crispy bacon, sweet, cool figs, more blueberries and candied pecans, and a little crumbling of goat cheese. Phenomenal.


Entrees:
Fried Soft Shell Crab Crunchy outside, creamy and delicious inside. I think it came with some kind of cabbage salad topping, but I didn't get a taste of that.

Pork Tomahawk The title was fancier, but that's the part that stood out. A pound of center-cut pork, served with a sweet potato Boulanger. Tender, juicy pork accented with the sweet potatoes. Yum.

Fire Roasted Texas Quail Two of us got this. The quail skin wasn't as crispy as I'd have wanted it, but the meat was moist. Served with boudin and a mixture of veggies (maybe onions?) in a 5-pepper jelly sauce. The rest of the plate kind of flavored the quail, in my opinion.

Side:
Goat Cheese Stone Ground Grits I couldn't leave this a la carte side sitting on the menu. Rich, creamy, cheesy, and delicious. I saved my leftovers and had them for breakfast with some La. strawberries and whipped cream this morning.

Desserts:
Creole Bread Pudding Souffle I may be blasphemous, but I was not impressed by this. Bread pudding was less done and more creamy than a traditional one. It was pointed out to me by my friends that this was an intentional part of the "souffle," but even with the whiskey cream sauce, this just lacked real sweetness and flavor to me.

Dark Chocolate Mousse Described to us as so dense it was almost like a cake, this dish was smooth and dense mousse. Flavor was a little muted for dark chocolate. I'm not sure what the technical percentages are to be considered "dark" but it wasn't as bitter as some of the darker chocolates I've had.

Creole Cream Cheesecake I don't know the secret to Creole Cream Cheese, but whatever gives it that kick balances perfectly with the richness of a cheesecake. This one was perfect.

Creme Brûlée 'Nuff said. But in case you've never had it at Commander's, the plating in a shallow saucer allows for every bite to have the perfect ratio of soft vanilla custard to crunchy burnt brown sugar. I almost refused to share.
 | 
Outstanding Service
by lsuaudio on 1/18/11
Every restaurant should take a lesson from these guys. I have dined at many restaurants and this was by far the best service I've ever had. They were very attentive and also not too stiff. No complaints about the food either. One of the best filet's I've had.
 | 
Saturday brunch
by CaliforniaTigerShark on 8/10/10
Commander's Palace has mastered fine dining and excellent service. Our waiter was very knowledgeable about the menu items including the smallest details. For Saturday brunch the menu only allows for a 3 course meal for approximately $40. They do allow you to have 2 appetizers & an entree instead of appetizer, entree, dessert. I had the Soft shell crab bisque for my first appetizer, shrimp remoulade for my second app and pecan crusted drum with lump crabmeat in a buerre blanc sauce for my entree. All 3 were amazing but if I could do it again I would only have one appetizer before my entree so I wouldn't be so full for such an incredible fish dish. The creole creme cheese cake looked fantastic and would have been good to eat at home later.

The jazz trio played at each table and took requests. They played and sang 4 songs for us during our lunch and added a nice touch to an already amazing meal. The songs we requested were They Asked For You (Audubon Zoo), The LSU Fight Song, You Are My Sunshine and When The Saints Go Marching In
 | 
LOVED it!
by iluvdatiger on 7/23/10
Only eaten here once, but definitely plan on going back. Service is outstanding and everyone at the table had nothing but compliments on their meal. It's on the expensive side so be prepared! During christmas, they have good reveillion dinner options that will cost you a little less.
 | 
The best
by Dothan Tiger on 7/12/10
Brunch and dinner always a home run.
 | 
Not Overrated
by Cosmo on 7/12/10
It has become popular to say this place is overrated but I couldn't disagree more. Every single time I go there it is a perfect dining experience from the food, to the service, to the atmosphere. And weekday lunch is one of the best values in the city: appetizer and entree for under $20 plus 25 cent martinis. You can't beat that.
 | 
Classic NOLA and World Class Dining Experience
by HotBoudin on 7/10/10
Don't be fooled - this is the gold standard that the rest have tried to emulate
Copyright @2014 Geaux.com. All rights reserved.